Salt and Lemon

May 23, 2011

salt and lemon 6x6 oil on cotton canvas panel $150

I love painting these little delicate ceramic cups. My Mom has been collecting 40’s-50’s vintage kitchenware for many years. She was buying depression glass, Jadite, Anchor Hocking, and Hoosier Green among a few, long before it was vogue. She could pick up a salt and pepper set for $5, what would cost you $45 today. Being in her kitchen is a still life painters dream, so many possibilities. Before my hiatus from painting, I had painted two larger paintings, My Mother’s Things and More of My Mother’s Things. There will probably be many more.

Leave a Reply

