stock ponds

July 1, 2011

6x8 oil on cotton canvas panel $150

I finished another painting yesterday of my visit to the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, Texas. It is very popular now to use a cattle watering container (stock pond) for a water garden or a planter. I really like the contrast of the sun kissed shiny surface of the tanks to the natural textures of plants. I think my favorite part of the painting is the water reflecting the sky and other plants. My DH cut me a bunch of 6×6 and 6×8 pieces of 1/8″ masonite to cover with canvas. I have really enjoyed painting these smaller canvases lately. After being in a painting slump for several months, it has helped me get my mojo back by moving on from one canvas to the next. I began making my own canvas panels using 1/16″ masonite and trimming the canvas flush with the board. But this time I bought 1/8″ and wrapped the canvas around the edge. I like this better because the edges look a lot nicer in the floater frames we make.

satin finish black floater frame

One Response to “stock ponds”


  1. Kim,
    I love this painting. You did a wonderful job. I, like you really like the reflections. I also like the outside rings on the containers. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

