3 chicks

September 4, 2011

6x6 oil on cotton canvas panel $150

I have a collection of children’s mugs that my Mom and I have been collecting since the 80’s. They were meant to be given to my daughter when she got her own home. Well, she is 30 now and I still have the mugs. 🙂 I had this little metal chick for Easter decorations and I thought it looked so much like the chicks painted on the mug, I just had to paint them together. One thing I learned from Scott Christensen’s workshop is to look and observe all the colors that make up an object. I find my paintings are more interesting when I use more than local colors. Your studio light, the atmosphere, the time of day are only a few reasons a subject could be absorbing different colors.

Leave a Reply

