November 9, 2011

20x24 oil on stretched cotton canvas

I needed a break from my still lifes so I went through all my photos and found this one I took at the Michaelis Ranch in Buda, Texas. I went with the Austin Plein Aire group last year. I fell in love with the ranch. I wanted to paint this scene because to me it shows this ranch is a working ranch. I admire the lady that runs it, she was such a strong and independent woman. I wish I could of gotten her in a photo to paint, but she never stopped the whole time we were there painting.

3 Responses to “”


  1. Kim,
    I really like this painting. I love your work.
    LaTaine


  2. I’m fond of farm and ranch scenes. This one’s great! Has a very natural “real place” feeling about it. Good work.


Leave a Reply

