A father’s song

August 11, 2013

20x24 oil on stretched cotton canvas

20×24 oil on stretched cotton canvas

When I visit my daughter in Austin, we like to walk along Congress St.. There are great restaurants, boutiques and on certain days you can find arts and craft booths set up. I took the photo used for this painting almost two years before the photo of my first guitar man.  I now believe they are the same person. I was told while the paintings were hung at the Magnolia Cafe on Congress St. the man and his daughter came in and recognized themselves.  My favorite part to paint was the light shining on the girls hair. I always have trouble deciding what to do with a background. I debated on this one to leave an empty background but after staring at the painting for a long time I decided the cars needed to be put in to help tell the story of a street performer.a father's song detail

2 Responses to “A father’s song”

  1. Lynn Hitchcock Says:

    Your work is VERY inspiring! Thanks for posting. I love your work.

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

